UNDECIDED?

4 Comments

All we have heard about this election season is talk of the “undecided voter” – the mysterious and coveted (for their vote) miniscule fraction of the American population that has yet to choose between Barack Obama and Mitt Romney.  Frankly, I don’t see what the holdup is.  Both candidates’ positions on some very important issues are so widely disparate that I can’t imagine how someone could still be on the fence.  Pick one already!

     Who are these people?  I’ve talked to quite a few people about the election over the past few months, and I have come to the conclusion that encountering a truly undecided voter in Alabama is about as likely as running over a Yeti with your Range Rover.  It’s just not that likely to happen.  I have looked, but I can’t seem to find one; everyone I meet has strong opinions one way or the other.  But, apparently, they are out there, somewhere, wandering in the wilderness, wringing their hands in worry and confusion.

     I have been wondering exactly what would I say if I found one.  I suppose I would want to know, first of all, what is keeping you in the middle?  What could one candidate or the other possibly do at this point – less than two weeks until the election – to bring you to his side?  My guess is that most undecided voters have probably made a deep-down gut decision about who to vote for, but are being overly cautious about pulling the trigger.  Whatever the case, though, a truly undecided voter – if he or she really will be a voter – can’t remain undecided forever.  Election day happens in the very near future, and a decision must be made.

     I believe this election is very important, but much more important than the final decision of a voter, in my estimation, is the continuing indecision of many Christians.  It is unfortunate that these “undecided Christians,” as I call them, are far easier to find than undecided voters.  You bump into them on the street every day.  Chances are you sit in close proximity to one at church.  These are the folks that are halfway there, but can’t seem to make the total commitment.  They haven’t fully “bought in” to what God is so plainly telling them through his Word.  They convey the impression of deep faithfulness, but only possess a surface-level faith.

     The scriptures emphatically teach that “the righteous shall live by faith.”  That is, Christians must make the decision to go all in, if we are to be justified.  There’s just no room on the fence.  As Christians, therefore, we must step up to the plate.  We must make our decision.  We are faced with essentially the same challenge found way back in the Old Testament book of Joshua: “And if it is evil in your eyes to serve the Lord, choose this day whom you will serve, whether the gods your fathers served in the region beyond the River, or the gods of the Amorites in whose land you dwell. But as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.”  Let’s make the decision to serve the Lord with all of our might, every day.  At the end of our lives, let it not be said that we were undecided Christians.

4 thoughts on “UNDECIDED?

Leave a Reply

